Health Care

A discussion restricted to the topic of hang gliding.
Previous topicNext topic
Andrew Vanis

Health Care

Post by Andrew Vanis »

Health CareTue, Jul 27 2021, 2:54:15 pm MDT
Not accessible
«Glen Volk» writes:

In response to your notice about Mikey I would say that you are right about getting yearly checkups. Certainly it would have made a difference to both Mikey and Rob. But so many Americans do not have the financial means to get proper medical attention.

I am no expert on health insurance but I know before he turned 65 Mikey struggled with the medical health insurance system as it stands. They do not make it easy for millions of Americans to have these regular checkups. Simple for you and I because we have medical coverage.

I don’t know for sure if this played a part but I bet it did. In any other first world country Mike would have had proper medical access. He turned 65 recently and told me that Medicare was wonderful and that he finally had decent medical coverage. But it came too late. I sure do miss flying with him.

Discuss "Health Care" at the Oz Report forum link»
Andrew Vanis

Re: Health Care

Post by Andrew Vanis »

Interestingly, I do not seem to hear complaints from users of medicare or medicaid (both government programs) and many complaints from those in private coverage.

I've heard numerous times the treatments folks have been saving up (delaying) until they become eligible for medicare.

No position on this, just an observation that came from this discussion on health care access.

.... There is a statistic like (and I'm sure I'm not quoting this accurately so someone correct me) that in the US the amount spent on the last day of life is greater than the first 20 years and the effect of the preventive care and action that could be had in the early years would allow for way more life beyond that extra last day.
LeadingEdge

Post by LeadingEdge »